top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaseni N Olabode

Making the Ad Campaign - Snapchat Filter

When I thought about the different ways in which I could present my project digitally my original idea was to just create a Snapchat advert that people would see in between watching their stories. I then thought that this might not be as effective, because speaking from experience I usually just swipe off an advert on the Snapchat app and I found that that was the same with other people that I asked.

After speaking to my supervisor I found that she agreed that creating a Snapchat filter would be more effective as people using the filter can see the actual affects on their own faces and that way the message will be stronger.


In my research I found that I could create a face filter using the Snapchat add-on app Lens Studio.

I had never used this program so I really struggled in the beginning. I had to use many YouTube tutorials to aid my progress. These are the YouTube videos that helped me the most:


Using the Lens Studio enabled me to see what it would actually look like on my own face as there is an option for you to choose to see it live. I was also able to add the transparent PNG files of the scars I had created in Adobe Photoshop for the billboard.

After I was happy with the filter I decided that the slogan 'Love Your Shade Of Black' should be included so I added that, and to personalise it even more I chose to let it pick up the snap user's name.


Here is the final product:





bottom of page