top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaseni N Olabode

Questionnaire and Focus groups

Firstly, I conducted some research interviews so that I would be able to explore the different views and experiences on this specific matter, as it is quite easy to have access to people in this particular community, me being a black woman myself.


Focus groups

Due to COVID-19, I had to host my focus groups over the platform Zoom. In the focus groups, I gathered a group of females with some sort of black heritage and some that weren't actually of black heritage but that have grown up around some sort of black culture. I raised topics surrounding self-esteem and colourism. From this, I found that a lot of them (who were of mixed heritage) were aware of it but had not experienced it themselves, although 1 person had experienced colourism. The other black girls in the focus group had all experienced some sort of discrimination due to the colour of their skin.


Questionnaire - Results





Recent Posts

See All

10 Key elements

Social awareness campaigns What is it? A public awareness campaign is a marketing effort to build public recognition of a problem through media, messaging, and an organised set of communication tactic

Photographers I Looked At

Adrienne Raquel Adrienne Raquel is an NYC-based photographer + art director.  Inspired by femininity, retro vibes, and Summer motifs — Adrienne's work is playful, vibrant, and nostalgic.  Her eye-catc

bottom of page